Check Where You Can Use the First Meeting Voucher and When It Expires
This page contains Coupang Partners affiliate links; the operator may earn a commission.
Key Takeaway
The First Meeting Voucher pays KRW 2 million for a first child and KRW 3 million for a second or later child born on or after January 1, 2024, as a National Happiness Card voucher.

The source is the Ministry of Health and Welfare (checked 2026-10-13). The deadline is 2 years from birth, and it works in most business types except entertainment, gambling, and a few others.
How much do you get, and on which card?
The Ministry of Health and Welfare says it gives a voucher of at least KRW 2 million per newborn as a National Happiness Card voucher. The amount depends on birth order.
| Category | Support amount | Applies to |
|---|---|---|
| First child | KRW 2 million | Born on or after January 1, 2024 |
| Second child or later | KRW 3 million | Born on or after January 1, 2024 |
Neither source mentions an income or asset test. The program covers children whose birth has been registered and who have received a resident registration number.
Where can you use it?
In principle, you can use it in every business type except the ones below.
| Business type you cannot use it in | Wording in the Ministry of Health and Welfare guide |
|---|---|
| Entertainment | Entertainment businesses |
| Gambling | Gambling businesses |
| Sanitation-related | Sanitation-related businesses such as massage (hair and beauty salons excluded from the ban) |
| Leisure | Leisure businesses |
| Other | Other businesses such as adult products, and duty-free shops |
Hair and beauty salons are not in the excluded list, so you can use it there. A detailed list of other participating merchants is not in the materials I checked, so look at your card company's guide as well.
How long can you use it?
For a child born on or after January 1, 2024, you can apply and use it within 2 years of the date of birth (the birth date on the resident registration). The Gov24 guide gives the same rule.
- The deadline is counted from the birth date on the resident registration, not from the day you applied.
- Neither source says exactly which day the last day of the deadline is.
- The Ministry of Health and Welfare guide also lists an earlier rule of 1 year from birth. If your child was born in 2023 or earlier, check separately.
The earlier you apply, the longer you have to use it. There is no separate application window, so you only need to apply within the 2 years above.
How do you apply?
The Gov24 guide lists two ways, in person and online.
- Get your ID ready.
- If someone is applying on your behalf, add a power of attorney, a copy of the guardian's ID, and the proxy's ID.
- Apply in person or online.
Gov24 also has a combined childbirth application service (Happy Birth) that lets you apply together with the parental benefit and the child allowance. Which services to bundle is something you choose on the application screen.
What is easy to miss?
- How to calculate the amount for children born on the same day, such as twins, is not in these materials. Ask your community service center.
- What happens to a balance after the deadline is also not in the materials I checked.
- The parental benefit and the child allowance are separate programs, so their amounts and deadlines differ.
Last checked: 2026-10-13. Please check your individual eligibility and balance again on Bokjiro, at your local community service center, or through the Health and Welfare Counseling Center at 129.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a child born in 2023 also use it for 2 years?
The 2-year rule is described as applying to children born on or after January 1, 2024. The Ministry of Health and Welfare guide also lists an older rule of 1 year from birth, so for a child born in 2023 or earlier, check the deadline at your community service center or the Health and Welfare Counseling Center at 129.
Can I use it at hair salons or online shopping malls?
In the Ministry of Health and Welfare guide, hair and beauty salons are exempted from the excluded sanitation-related businesses. Whether online payment works is not stated in the materials I checked, so ask your card company or call 129.
What happens to the remaining balance after the deadline?
How a balance is handled after the deadline is not stated in the two sources I checked. Plan to use it within the deadline, and ask 129 or your community service center how a remaining balance is handled.
Sources & Verification Date
- Ministry of Health and Welfare: Pregnancy and childbirth support guide (last updated 2025-03-21) · Verified
- Gov24: First Meeting Voucher support (last updated 2025-11-28) · Verified
All materials have been verified from official announcements and may have changed since verification.